Skip to main content
Accepting applicationsTerms last verified 2026-08-30
This is an illustration, not the issuer’s actual card design.

Discover it Student Cash Back Card

Issued by Capital One (Capital One, N.A.) · Discover network · Unsecured consumer card

At a glance

The Discover it Student Cash Back Card is a student consumer credit card issued by Capital One on the Discover network. Its current annual fee is $0. It is accepting new applications. Terms were last independently verified on 2026-08-30.

Exhibit AOfficial issuer information

Current rates and fees

From the issuer’s official pages and agreement. Each value shows its source, confidence, and last-verified date.

Interest

Purchase APR0% intro APR for 6 months on purchases, then 16.49%–25.49% variable (as of August 2026)

Rendered directly on the product page — identical range to Discover it Student Chrome. Confirm your exact rate with the issuer.

Discover — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30

APR typeVariable

Discover — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30

Fees

Annual fee$0

Stated directly on the product page ("No annual fee").

Discover — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30

Rewards

Reward currencyCash back

Discover — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30

Base earn rate5% cash back on everyday purchases at places that rotate each quarter (grocery stores, restaurants, gas stations, and more), up to the quarterly maximum when activated; 1% on everything else; unlimited first-year Cashback Match

Requires quarterly activation of the 5% categories, same mechanic as the adult Discover it Cash Back card.

Discover — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30

Credit building

Reports to bureausAll three (Experian, Equifax, TransUnion), per Discover's general reporting policy

General Discover-brand statement, not specific to this product's own page.

Discover — "When Does Discover Report to Credit Bureaus?" (brand-wide policy article, not this product's own page)verified 2026-08-30

Benefits and protections

  • No credit score required to apply. source
  • $100 statement credit welcome offer. Spend $300 in the first 3 months. Discover labels this a limited-time offer that may not be available if you navigate away from the page. source
  • Unlimited first-year Cashback Match. source

Advertiser Disclosure: Some links on this page may earn a commission.

Confirm before you apply

Modeled cost

True cost of this card

True-cost calculator

Illustrative math from this card’s APR. Nothing you enter is stored. This shows costs — it does not predict your rate or approval.

Cost of carrying a balance for a year

Balance carriedInterest / monthInterest / year
$1,000$2.5$30
$3,000$7.5$90
$5,000$12.5$150

Paying only the minimum on $3,000

104 months

About $336.98 in interest (2% minimum, $25 floor).

$5,000 balance transfer (3% fee, 15-mo intro, $300/mo)

$152.64 total cost

$150 upfront fee, plus post-intro interest at 3%.

Simplified illustrations. Real interest depends on your exact APR, balance, timing, and payments. The clearest way to avoid all of this is to pay the statement balance in full.

Exhibit BIndependent editorial analysis

Our independent analysis

Editorial rating

4.24.2 out of 5

How this score was calculated
DimensionWeightScore
Accessibility for thin files30%4.5/5
Fees25%4.5/5
Rewards value20%4/5
Reports to all three bureaus15%4/5
Terms transparency10%3.5/5

Methodology 2026.07 · full methodology · No active partner relationship for this card as of 2026-08-24. If one begins, it cannot affect this card's score, category ranking, or buyer-beware tier — see /advertiser-disclosure for the full firewall policy.

The rotating-5%-category sibling of Student Chrome, for students willing to activate categories each quarter. Same accessible entry point — no credit score required, exclusively for enrolled students — plus a current $100/$300-spend welcome offer that Discover explicitly labels limited-time. As with Chrome, the product page does not state a foreign-transaction fee or a card-specific bureau-reporting policy, so confirm both directly.

Advantages

  • No credit score required to apply
  • 5% rotating categories can out-earn a flat-rate starter card
  • Current $100 welcome statement credit (limited time)

Watch for

  • 5% categories require quarterly activation and cap out, then drop to 1%
  • Foreign-transaction fee not stated on the product page
  • Welcome offer is explicitly promotional and may change

Best for: Enrolled students willing to track and activate quarterly categories for a higher ceiling than a flat-rate card.

Credit Defense Hub Editorial Team · reviewed 2026-08-30 · Pending named subject-matter review Editorial analysis is independent and separate from the issuer and from consumer reviews.

Extractable answers

Quick answers

Who issues the Discover it Student Cash Back Card?
It is issued by Capital One on the Discover network.
What does the Discover it Student Cash Back Card cost?
The annual fee is $0. Verified 2026-08-30. The purchase APR is variable and depends on creditworthiness — confirm the current range with the issuer.
Is the Discover it Student Cash Back Card accepting new applications?
Yes, as of our last verification. Availability can change — confirm on the issuer’s page.
Does the Discover it Student Cash Back Card help build credit?
It reports to all three (experian, equifax, transunion), per discover's general reporting policy, so on-time payments and low utilization can help build history. Building credit depends on your overall behavior, not one card.
What should someone verify before applying?
The current APR range, the annual and foreign-transaction fees, any welcome-offer terms, and whether the reward or benefit you want still applies — all directly on the issuer’s page or card agreement.
What should you do if something goes wrong with this card?
For a wrong charge, use the issuer’s billing-dispute process (FCBA). For inaccurate credit reporting, dispute with the bureaus (FCRA). If it is not resolved, you can complain to the CFPB and your state attorney general. See our card-problem guides.

Current-fact answers reflect terms verified 2026-08-30; confirm with the issuer before applying.

Exhibit CConsumer experience data

What consumers report

No verified consumer reviews yet

Exhibit DIndividual consumer reviews

Share your experience

Rate the card, flag specific issues or positives, and tell your story. We never ask for card numbers, account numbers, or your SSN.

Step 1 of 5
Your overall experience with the Discover it Student Cash Back Card

Nothing you enter is stored unless you submit, and we never ask for card numbers, account numbers, or your SSN.

Would you recommend this product?

When to talk to a professional

See the issuer’s official page → for Discover it Student Cash Back Card

Educational information — not advice

This page provides general educational information about credit, debt, and consumer protections. It is not legal advice, financial advice, or credit repair services, and reading it does not create any professional relationship. Laws, procedures, deadlines, and dollar amounts vary by state and change over time.

For advice about your specific situation, consult a licensed attorney or qualified financial professional. See our full disclaimer.