Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card for Students
Issued by Bank of America (Bank of America Corporation) · Visa network · Unsecured consumer card
At a glance
The Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card for Students is a student consumer credit card issued by Bank of America on the Visa network. Its current annual fee is $0. It is accepting new applications. Terms were last independently verified on 2026-08-30.
Current rates and fees
From the issuer’s official pages and agreement. Each value shows its source, confidence, and last-verified date.
Interest
Verified via a rendered browser session 2026-08-30 — see bofa-travel-rewards-student for why a plain fetch of BofA's pages does not render.
Bank of America — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30
Bank of America — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30
Fees
Bank of America — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30
Rewards
Bank of America — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30
The $2,500 combined quarterly cap and the after-year-one step-down to 3% are the two numbers most likely to be missed by a reader skimming the "6%" headline.
Bank of America — official student card pageverified 2026-08-30
Benefits and protections
- Distinct "for Students" product. Listed separately from the general-consumer Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards card, under Bank of America's own "Credit Cards for Students" category. source
- Choose your own 6%-in-year-one category. Pick from gas/EV charging, online shopping (incl. streaming), dining, travel, drug stores, or home improvement; changeable once per calendar month. source
Advertiser Disclosure: Some links on this page may earn a commission.
Confirm before you apply
Rates, fees, offers, eligibility, and benefits change often. Confirm the final terms directly with the issuer’s official page or the CFPB card-agreement database before applying.
Modeled cost
True cost of this card
True-cost calculator
Illustrative math from this card’s APR. Nothing you enter is stored. This shows costs — it does not predict your rate or approval.
Cost of carrying a balance for a year
| Balance carried | Interest / month | Interest / year |
|---|---|---|
| $1,000 | $6.25 | $75 |
| $3,000 | $18.75 | $225 |
| $5,000 | $31.25 | $375 |
Paying only the minimum on $3,000
124 months
About $1,048.91 in interest (2% minimum, $25 floor).
$5,000 balance transfer (3% fee, 15-mo intro, $300/mo)
$156.63 total cost
$150 upfront fee, plus post-intro interest at 7.5%.
Simplified illustrations. Real interest depends on your exact APR, balance, timing, and payments. The clearest way to avoid all of this is to pay the statement balance in full.
Our independent analysis
Editorial rating
3.93.9 out of 5
How this score was calculated
| Dimension | Weight | Score |
|---|---|---|
| Accessibility for thin files | 30% | 3/5 |
| Fees | 25% | 4.5/5 |
| Rewards value | 20% | 4.5/5 |
| Reports to all three bureaus | 15% | 3.5/5 |
| Terms transparency | 10% | 4.5/5 |
Methodology 2026.07 · full methodology · No active partner relationship for this card as of 2026-08-24. If one begins, it cannot affect this card's score, category ranking, or buyer-beware tier — see /advertiser-disclosure for the full firewall policy.
A distinctly-named student product offering a genuinely strong first-year rate — 6% in a category you pick, plus 2% at grocery stores and wholesale clubs — before settling to the same 3%/2% structure as Bank of America's adult Customized Cash Rewards card. No annual fee, and BofA's pricing box is unusually complete, but unlike its Travel Rewards for Students sibling, this page does not state a foreign-transaction fee, so that field is left unverified rather than assumed $0.
Advantages
- 6% first-year rate in a category you choose, plus automatic 2% at grocery/wholesale
- No annual fee
- Clear, complete published APR and fee summary
Watch for
- 6%/2% share a $2,500 combined quarterly cap, then drop to 1%
- Choice-category rate falls to 3% after the first year
- Foreign-transaction fee is not stated on the product page — confirm before traveling
Best for: Students with concentrated spending in one category who will actively manage the monthly category choice.
Credit Defense Hub Editorial Team · reviewed 2026-08-30 · Pending named subject-matter review Editorial analysis is independent and separate from the issuer and from consumer reviews.
Extractable answers
Quick answers
- Who issues the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card for Students?
- It is issued by Bank of America (legally, Bank of America, N.A.) on the Visa network.
- What does the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card for Students cost?
- The annual fee is $0. Verified 2026-08-30. The purchase APR is variable and depends on creditworthiness — confirm the current range with the issuer.
- Is the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card for Students accepting new applications?
- Yes, as of our last verification. Availability can change — confirm on the issuer’s page.
- Does the Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards Credit Card for Students help build credit?
- Like most major cards, on-time payments and low utilization generally help build history over time; check the issuer’s reporting practices.
- What should someone verify before applying?
- The current APR range, the annual and foreign-transaction fees, any welcome-offer terms, and whether the reward or benefit you want still applies — all directly on the issuer’s page or card agreement.
- What should you do if something goes wrong with this card?
- For a wrong charge, use the issuer’s billing-dispute process (FCBA). For inaccurate credit reporting, dispute with the bureaus (FCRA). If it is not resolved, you can complain to the CFPB and your state attorney general. See our card-problem guides.
Current-fact answers reflect terms verified 2026-08-30; confirm with the issuer before applying.
What consumers report
No verified consumer reviews yet
This card has no published consumer reviews yet, so we are not showing consumer averages or complaint statistics — we never display percentages from a sample too small to be meaningful, and we never seed fake reviews. Be the first to share a genuine experience below.
Share your experience
Rate the card, flag specific issues or positives, and tell your story. We never ask for card numbers, account numbers, or your SSN.
If your issue is about credit reporting or a dispute
When to talk to a professional
A consumer review is not a legal finding. If a card issuer reported inaccurate information, denied a valid fraud claim, or you were sued over a balance, those are situations where documenting the facts and — for lawsuits or unresolved FCRA/FDCPA problems — talking to a consumer attorney or legal aid can matter. You can also report issues to the CFPB.
Educational information — not advice
This page provides general educational information about credit, debt, and consumer protections. It is not legal advice, financial advice, or credit repair services, and reading it does not create any professional relationship. Laws, procedures, deadlines, and dollar amounts vary by state and change over time.
For advice about your specific situation, consult a licensed attorney or qualified financial professional. See our full disclaimer.